Intelligent Price Automation

Dynamic Pricing with ESL/EPL in Sports Retail

Dynamic Pricing ESL

The Problem

Dynamic pricing is an important component of any digitization strategy and has become a decisive success factor in recent years, especially in online retailing. Online pure-players use this tool to change prices according to customer behavior. Dynamic pricing has long been standard in other industries.

By using electronic shelf labels (ESL), dynamic pricing can also be efficiently implemented in brick-and-mortar retail. More and more retailers are using digital price tags to manage their prices in line with demand. However, the focus is often on operational effects, meanwhile, the necessary price intelligence is lacking and thus significant potential remains untapped.

The Solution

Together with a sports retailer, we addressed this problem and set up a pilot project. The IPA module “Dynamic Pricing” was integrated into the retailer’s merchandise management and initialized for one product group.

The applied pricing algorithms are demand-, supply- and environment-oriented and use not only internal data but also competitors’ prices to determine the optimal prices. Our scraping technology collects the price data of the defined competitors and brands on a daily basis.

Using the application, category managers adjust the competition rules and can define minimum, maximum and average prices as well as deviations from the RRP, among other things. These threshold values are treated by the algorithm as guidelines and are used as an influencing factor in the price calculation. If there is sufficient confidence in the system, the new prices are set fully automatically, transferred to the ESL systems in the stores and displayed just a few seconds later.

The Result

Currently we are still in the middle of the test phase, but the first results are promising. For the pilot product range, gross profit increases of up to 7% were achieved in the most recent clearance sale. By being able to react to short-term weather changes, the retailer has also been able to increase sales by 5% compared to other product areas. Fears that dynamic pricing might damage the price image have not yet emerged. On the contrary: on average, customers were able to profit from lower prices.

See also:

aifora Intelligent Price Automation

aifora Dynamic Pricing

Intelligent Price Automation

Dynamic Pricing mit ESL/EPL im Sporthandel

Dynamic Pricing ESL

Das Problem

Dynamic Pricing ist eine wichtige Komponente jeder Digitalisierungsstrategie und hat sich in den letzten Jahren speziell im Online-Handel zu einem entscheidenden Erfolgsfaktor entwickelt. Online Pure-Player nutzen dieses Werkzeug gezielt um Preise entsprechend des Kundenverhaltens zu verändern. In anderen Branchen ist Dynamic Pricing längst Standard.

Durch den Einsatz von Electronic Shelf Labels (ESL) wird Dynamic Pricing auch im stationären Handel effizient umsetzbar. Immer mehr Händler nutzen digitale Preisschilder und Preisetiketten um ihre Preise nachfragegerecht zu steuern. Häufig stehen jedoch operative Effekte im Fokus, die notwendige Preisintelligenz fehlt und somit bleiben maßgebliche Potentiale ungenutzt.

Die Lösung

Gemeinsam mit einem Sport-Händler haben wir dieses Problem adressiert und ein Pilotprojekt aufgesetzt. Das IPA Modul „Dynamic Pricing“ wurde in die Warenwirtschaft des Händlers integriert und für einen Warenbereich initialisiert.

Die verwendeten Preisalgorithmen arbeiten nachfrage-, angebots- und umweltorientiert und nutzen neben den internen Daten auch Wettbewerbspreise zur optimalen Preisgestaltung. Unsere Scraping-Technologie erfasst tagesaktuell die Preisdaten der festgelegten Mitbewerber und Marken.

Über die Anwendung justieren die Category Manager die Wettbewerbsregeln und können unter anderem Minimal-, Maximal- und Durchschnittspreise sowie Abweichungen zum UVP definieren. Diese Schwellwerte werden vom Algorithmus als Leitplanken verstanden und fließen als Einflussgröße in die Preisberechnung ein. Bei ausreichender Konfidenz werden die neuen Preise vollautomatisch gesetzt, an die ESL-Systeme in den Filialen übergeben und wenige Sekunden später auf der Fläche angezeigt.

Das Ergebnis

Noch befinden wir uns inmitten der Testphase, doch die ersten Ergebnisse sind verheißungsvoll. Im pilotierten Sortiment konnten im vergangenen Schlussverkauf Rohertragssteigerungen von bis zu 7% erreicht werden. Durch die Möglichkeit, auch auf kurzfristige Wetteränderungen zu reagieren, hat der Händler auch den Umsatz im Vergleich zu anderen Warenbereichen um 5% steigern können. Die Befürchtung, dass Dynamic Pricing dem Preisimage schaden könnte, haben sich bisher nicht gezeigt. Im Gegenteil: durchschnittlich können sich die Kunden sogar über niedrigere Preise freuen.

Siehe auch: