UnkategorisiertAllgemeinNewsUncategorizedWorkGründerBlogGeneralNewsSegmentBlogLösungenTeamFounderTeamSolutionsSegmentIntelligent Price AutomationIntelligent Price AutomationIntelligent Stock AutomationIntelligent Stock Automation

IPA Value Validation for Multi-Label Retailer

IPA value validation

The Problem

Due to the high proportion of manufacturer brands, multi-label retail offers a particularly high level of price transparency. In contrast to pure online retailers, the range of services offered by brick-and-mortar formats is not only reduced to price, but also criteria such as service and shopping experience.

In a project with a traditional multi-label retailer, price algorithms were to be developed that take into account not only internal price factors but also context factors such as the strength of the retail brand. The particular challenge in this case was the complex data basis, which first had to be reduced.

The Solution

In the initial workshop, the retailer’s structures, processes and price rules were first clarified. A uniform target picture was developed across all departments and once again it became clear – price management is multi-faceted! A first data analysis in our Data Lake provided insight into the complex data basis. After the data had been normalized, the focus was therefore on extensive preparation. Formatting, cleansing, linking and transforming were the methodical focal points of our Data Scientists. On this basis, the ideal article groups were formed through a two-stage cluster process. A time series analysis highlighted the seasonal effects and price elasticities by location, product group and brand, providing information on the different price sensitivities of customers. In addition, the available customer traffic data were modeled as valuable parameters. The final validation of the predictive model was carried out by means of a back test. Subsequent simulations with different pricing strategies and optimized framework conditions (including rules and regulations) uncovered the specific pricing potentials and formed the last step in the project phase.

The Result

“We knew that our database would make it difficult to develop intelligent algorithms for price management. The results of aifora really impressed us! We not only have far greater transparency over our data, but are now in a position to offer our customers prices that are in line with the market at all times”.

The potentials calculated in the business case illustrated the enormous impact of optimized pricing (4.2% increase in earnings with 8% higher sell-through ratio). Together with our Data Scientists, the retailer is already working on the next step: the integration of the Intelligent Price Advisor.

See also:

Intelligent Price Automation

IPA Value Validation bei Multi-Label-Händler

IPA value validation

Das Problem

Der Multi-Label-Handel weist durch den hohen Anteil an Herstellermarken eine besonders hohe Preistransparenz auf. Im Gegensatz zu den reinen Online-Händlern reduziert sich das Leistungsangebot der stationären Formate jedoch nicht nur auf den Preis, sondern auch auf Kriterien wie Service und Einkaufserlebnis.

Im Projekt mit einem traditionsreichen Multi-Label Händler sollten Preisalgorithmen entwickelt werden, die neben den internen Preiseinflussfaktoren auch Kontextfaktoren wie beispielsweise die Stärke der Vertriebsmarke berücksichtigen. Die besondere Herausforderung bestand in der komplexen Datenbasis, die es im ersten Schritt zu reduzieren galt.

Die Lösung

Im initialen Workshop wurden zunächst die Strukturen, Prozesse und Preisregeln des Händlers geklärt. Fachbereichsübergreifend konnte ein einheitliches Zielbild entwickelt werden und wieder mal zeigte sich – Preismanagement ist facettenreich! Eine erste Datenanalyse in unserem Data Lake gab Aufschluss über die vielschichtige Datenbasis. Nach der Normalisierung der Daten stand somit eine umfangreiche Aufbereitung im Vordergrund. Formatieren, Bereinigen, Verknüpfen und Transformieren waren die methodischen Schwerpunkte unserer Data Scientists. Auf dieser Basis wurden durch ein zweistufiges Clusterverfahren die idealen Artikelgruppen gebildet. Zeitreihenanalyse verdeutlichten die saisonalen Effekte und Preiselastizitäten nach Lokationen, Warengruppen und Marken gaben Aufschluss über die unterschiedlichen Preissensitivitäten der Kunden. Zusätzlich wurden die verfügbaren Kundenfrequenzdaten als wertvoller Parameter modelliert. Die finale Validierung des sogenannten Predictive Models erfolgte mittels Backtest. Abschließende Simulationen mit unterschiedlichen Preisstrategien und optimierten Rahmenbedingungen (u.a. Regelwerk) deckten die spezifischen Pricing Potentiale auf und stellten den letzten Schritt der Projektphase dar.

Das Ergebnis

„Wir wussten, dass es mit unserer Datenbasis schwierig wird intelligente Algorithmen zur Preissteuerung zu entwickeln. Die Resultate von aifora haben uns wirklich beeindruckt! Wir haben nicht nur deutlich mehr Transparenz über unsere Daten, sondern sind jetzt in der Lage unseren Kunden zu jeder Zeit einen marktgerechten Preis anzubieten.“

Die im Business Case berechneten Potentiale verdeutlichten die enormen Effekte einer optimierten Preissetzung (4,2% Ertragssteigerung bei 8% höherer Abverkaufsquote). Gemeinsam mit unseren Data Scientists arbeitet der Händler bereits am nächsten Schritt: die Integration der aifora Services.

Siehe auch: